Author Topic: Smoke Effect?  (Read 7333 times)

rick

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Smoke Effect?
« on: March 23, 2010, 05:30:23 AM »
Is there a reason that the smoke effect is disabled in FSX Sabre?  Is it possible to enable it again?   :)

Hansi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 43
    • View Profile
Re: Smoke Effect?
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2010, 10:33:44 PM »
Hi Rick,

Is there a reason that the smoke effect is disabled in FSX Sabre?  Is it possible to enable it again?   :)

the main reason is that the exhaust smoke decreases frame rate on many computers. But if you have newer  powerful hardware, you of course can activate the smoke. For this to do you must edit the AIRCRAFT.CFG file and remove the '//' characters in front of the lines which call the smoke effects in the [lights]-section.

Cheers,

Hansi

sun444

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Smoke Effect?
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2010, 12:31:54 AM »
Thanks for smoking. Are there any more goodies I don't know about?
Framerates are no problem even with a lot of AI traffic. That shows the F-86 doesn't use a lot of resources.
I can't stress it enough, this aircraft is amazing ... beats all my payware.

Thanks a lot
Hans-Jörg